Dr. Fu Wins 2024 Stieg Award for Resident Education

Dr. Kai-Ming Fu has been named winner of the 2024 Philip E. Stieg Faculty Teaching Award for Dedication and Excellence in Resident Education. In presenting the award to Dr. Fu, neurosurgical resident Umberto Tosi, MD, praised him as “a master of supervised autonomy and technical teaching.” 

The Stieg Award, established in 2004, is presented annually at the neurosurgery residency graduation dinner to recognize an educator who has achieved distinction in the training of our residents. The winner is selected by the residents themselves as a show of appreciation for the efforts of a particularly dedicated teacher. Past winners have included not only Weill Cornell Medicine neurosurgical faculty and fellows but also faculty from neurology and radiology, as well as from Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, where our residents also work and train.

“Dr. Fu has done a tremendous job working with our trainees this year,” said Dr. Philip E. Stieg, for whom the award is named. “This year he is covering an even larger role in academics than he has previously, and it is much appreciated by the residents.”

Previous winners have included:

2004: Mark Souweidane, MD
2005: John Boockvar, MD, and Mark Souweidane, MD
2006: Igor Ougorets, MD
2007: Anders J. Cohen, DO
2008: Apostolos John Tsiouris, MD, and Robert Zimmerman, MD
2009: Philip Gutin, MD
2010: Jeffrey Greenfield, MD, PhD
2011: Eric Elowitz, MD
2012: Philip Stieg, PhD, MD
2013: Martin Bilsky, MD
2014: Ilya Laufer, MD
2015: Cameron Brennan, MD
2016: Ali Baaj, MD
2017: Jeffrey Greenfield, MD, PhD
2018: Rafael Uribe, MD, MPH
2019: Michael Virk, MD, PhD
2020: Philip Stieg, PhD, MD
2021: Eric Elowitz, MD
2022: Justin Schwarz, MD
2023:  Michael Kaplitt, MD, PhD

Also at this year’s graduation dinner, Dr. Umberto Tosi was named winner of the 2024 Apuzzo Award and Dr. Alexandra Giantini Larsen was awarded the 2024 Gaposchkin Prize.

Neurological Surgery 525 E. 68th St., Starr 651, Box 99 New York, NY 10065