Dr. Parker Named Winner of 2019 Kenneth Shulman Award

Whitney Parker, MD, PhD, a sixth-year resident in neurosurgery at Weill Cornell, was awarded the 2019 Kenneth Shulman Award from the Joint Section on Pediatric Neurosurgery of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS). This award, given each year at the annual meeting of the Joint Section, is given to the best paper presented by a resident-in-training. Dr. Parker's winning paper is "Generating Patient-Based Models of Neurodevelopmental Epileptic Disorders."

The Kenneth Shulman award is the most prestigious award given to a resident within pediatric neurosurgery. With her win, Dr. Parker brings the total of Weill Cornell winners to five. Previous winners include Dr. Peter Morgenstern in 2015, Dr. Caitlin Hoffman in 2012, Dr. Jeffrey Greenfield in 2007, and Dr. David Sandberg in 2001.

In addition to this award, Dr. Parker has also won the 2019 Apuzzo Award, the 2018 and 2019 Gaposchkin Research Prize, and an NREF Fellowship for the 2018-2019 Academic Year.

Neurological Surgery 525 E. 68th St., Starr 651, Box 99 New York, NY 10065